Outside In

Image via Goodreads

From the Vault:

Outside In
Maria V. Snyder

I didn’t read the synopsis of this book before I started reading it.  To be honest, I basically finished Inside Out and immediately went to the library to get Outside In.  I wasn’t sure what could happen in the second book since the first one had been so tidily wrapped up.  Yeah, as usual, I was completely wrong.  What could happen?  Pretty much everything.  The story takes a little while to really build up, but once it starts going, it steamrollers through to the end.  I’m always amazed how the action really doesn’t stop in Snyder books until the last five pages.  Right up until that point, it’s just go, go, go and I can’t seem to get enough of it.

Publisher’s Blurb (an excerpt of the book can also be found at that link):

Me?

A leader?

Okay, I did prove that there’s more to Inside than we knew.

That a whole world exists beyond this cube we live in. And finding that led to a major rebellion—between worker scrubs like me and the snobby uppers who rule our world. Make that ruled. Because of me, we’re free. I thought that meant I was off the hook, and could go off on my own again—while still touching base with Riley, of course. He’s the one upper I think I can trust. But then we learned that there’s outside and then there is Outside.

And something from Outside wants In.

It strikes me that Trella is one of the more realistic characters I’ve run into.  She makes mistakes and then seeks to remedy them.  Some days, I feel like that’s all I do.  She’s strong and brave, but sometimes she really just wants to get away and explore.  Perhaps my favorite part about Trella is how it takes her a little while to come around to things.  She had brilliant plans that fabricate instantly, but when it comes to the really big things in her life, she’s a little slow on the uptake and that’s the most human trait Snyder could have built into her.  It makes it so much easier to empathize with her.

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned Snyder’s men before, but I’d really like to highlight them here.  They all seem so full of love, but at the same time they are completely driven.  They have an end point they’re working to and they never deviate from that.  In no small way, they equal the badassery of the leading lady in each series and Riley is no exception.  He’s completely brilliant in both Inside Out and Outside In.  The way he pushes Trella to care for the people of Inside in this story is inspiring.  In some ways, Riley is the unsung hero of this story.  Even when Trella had given up or was injured and lying in bed, he still tirelessly worked to put their world right again.  The world (both fictional and real) needs more Rileys.

In the end, this story is a suspenseful tale of infiltration and rebellion that will not let you go until the very last page.

4.5 ink bottles.
Character Believability: 4.5 Buffys
Character Investibility:  4.5 Doctors
Pace/Urgency/Tension:  4 Dresdens
Worldbuilding: 4.5 Snyders
Language:  4 Feegles
Mystery:  5 Sherlocks

Book Links:  Goodreads, Publisher

Leave a Reply

