The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore

I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t watch the Oscars anymore, but I’m kind of regretting that decision now that I know that the following video won for Best Animated Short.  Here’s the video:

I can’t even begin to describe how many levels on which this short speaks to me.  The 7 year old in me wanted desperately to get caught in a tornado and transported to a place where books fly.  The adult in me just wants to sit down in that green wingback armchair and let the books swirl around me.  This film is magic incarnate.  It’s beautiful and poetic and somehow celebrates words without using any.

I’m comforted that I live in a world that would not only produce this film, but subsequently reward it as well.  It restores my faith in humanity a little bit.  It was made by Moonbot Studios and William Joyce and to them I can only say, thank you.  It’s not often that our world produces something this magnificently lovely.  Thank you.

Leave a Reply

