Shattered Souls

Image via Goodreads

Shattered Souls
Mary Lindsey

I don’t often read horror, mostly thanks to an overactive imagination that feeds directly into exceptionally vivid dreams.  That being said, I’m SO glad I picked this book up from the library.  It’s creepy as hell, sure, but there’s this element of love and intrigue that made the pages disappear.  The whole premise didn’t just glue my eyes to the page, it completely subsumed my brain.  The main character is completely relatable, especially if you have any past experience with mental illness.  Lindsey does a magnificent job of creating this world of fear and horror that sometimes manages to be sweet and endearing.

Publisher’s Blurb:

A thrilling debut story of death, love, destiny and danger

Lenzi hears voices and has visions – gravestones, floods, a boy with steel gray eyes. Her boyfriend, Zak, can’t help, and everything keeps getting louder and more intense. Then Lenzi meets Alden, the boy from her dreams, who reveals that she’s a reincarnated Speaker – someone who can talk to and help lost souls – and that he has been her Protector for centuries.

Now Lenzi must choose between her life with Zak and the life she is destined to lead with Alden. But time is running out: a malevolent spirit is out to destroy Lenzi, and he will kill her if she doesn’t make a decision soon.

I had panic attacks in college wherein I’d freak out at the thought of being bat crap crazy, but not knowing that I’d lost my mind.  There’s really nothing I value more than my mind, what with my passion for reading and writing.  My capacity to view the world and put it into words is of paramount importance to me, so it’s beyond easy for me to empathize with Lenzi when she’s afraid that she’s finally lost her mind.  And that really only made the story that much more real for me.  What if those little fears our minds conjure for us in the night are really there?

Speaking of those fears, holy crap, does Lindsey create terrifying ghosts.  The little kid in the bathroom stall freaked me right out.  I don’t like little kid ghosts.  They’re the creepiest kind of ghost, but the way Lindsey resolves it kind of took that fear out of it for me.  I’ll look at every one of them from now on and think of that one little kid and Mr. Jinx, which is awesome.

There are so many aspects of this story.  I don’t want to miss any of them.

I *love* the past lives aspect of this.  I don’t really cotton to that kind of hogwash in real life.  Stories of people falling to their knees on the steps of the Parthenon, shouting about how they’ve been here before generally make me scoff and turn back to my book.  But I can’t deny that the history nerd in me has toyed with the idea.  Sure, it’s likely that we were all serfs of some kind or another (think Monty Python mud farmers), but it piques my curiosity nonetheless.  That being said, the way Lindsey weaves the memories into the story added another layer of intrigue to the tale that only served to pull me in that much further.

In the end, this story is compelling, enthralling, gut-clenching, engrossing, and I love every second of it.  I really can’t recommend it enough.  You will like it if you enjoyed Anna Dressed in Blood.

5 ink bottles.

Book Links:  Goodreads, Publisher

Leave a Reply

