Bedtime Stories

Before I write anything, I should warn you that as a result of the “research” that went into this post I just ADDed out and watched what I now remember as my favorite episode of Reading Rainbow.  You’ve been warned.

As you all know, I’m a huge Doctor Who fan.  The Christmas episodes never fail to make me go all weepy and whenever I heard the word allons-y, I have an unnatural compulsion to run towards blue.  Now, this is the important part:  David Tennant is my Doctor.  Yes, I started watching the show chronologically (thanks, Netflix), but David Tennant won my heart in a way that Christopher Eccleston never did.

That being said, did you guys know that there’s a children’s show in the UK that’s just bedtime stories?  No?  Well, now you do.  It’s called Cbeebies and it’s yet another reason why I’m super jealous of those who live in the British Isles.

This show combines two things that I hold very near and dear to my hear.  I can’t even tell you how many hours of my childhood I spent planted in front of a TV watching Reading Rainbow (also Star Trek: Next Generation, but that’s neither here nor there).  When you combine that with that fact that I go all fangirl when David Tennant enters the screen, well, you get a show that I adore and something that I absolutely want to show to my nephews as soon as possible.  And Tennant?  He doesn’t disappoint. (I’m not sure if it’s even possible for him to do that).

I don’t want this to turn into a fan letter to David Tennant.  What I want is for this to turn into a fan letter to children’s shows that give them the gift of magic.  Every child should know the boundless joy that comes with opening the cover of a book.  The fact that there are still shows on the planet that plant the seed of love for books makes me furiously happy.

I say that because between my parents and Reading Rainbow, I developed the bibliophile gene pretty early on.  I can clearly remember asking my mom if we could devote a whole day just to reading each week of my summer vacation because even when I was a kid, for me a whole day spent reading was heaven.  I would be an entirely different person if I didn’t read.  (My apartment would certainly look tidier.)  With budget cutbacks and libraries losing funding, something needs to sub in for kids to help them find the magic of the written word.  I want a future where kids love books as much as I do.  Which is why Cbeebies is wonderful because bedtime stories are magic shining with moon and starlight.  Every child should get a bedtime story.

One thought on “Bedtime Stories

  1. I am also jealous of their television programming. When we watch BBC America here, the shows are time edited, to fit our commercials in. We end up missing quite a bit of the program in the process.
    Strangely, I was thinking of short stories the other day, and actually looking to see if there were recordings out there of some of my favorite actors reading them. Brilliant. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

