A Million Suns

Image via Goodreads

A Million Suns (Across the Universe, Book #2)
Beth Revis

I’ve been looking forward to this book since I read the first one, Across the Universe, and holy crap, am I thrilled that it’s finally in my hands.  That being said, there’s almost nothing I can tell you about the book because I don’t want to ruin it for you.  The twists and turns are exquisite.  My eyes were glued to the page because I needed to know what was going to happen next.  At one point, I forced myself to shut the book, but the 15 minute drive between where I was and home was torture.  It felt like every other page contained Super Important Plot Points.  Amy and Elder had already won my heart and that didn’t change as I read through this book.  If anything, it only furthered my need for everything to turn out okay for them.

Publisher’s Blurb:

Godspeed was fueled by lies. Now it is ruled by chaos.

It’s been three months since Amy was unplugged. The life she always knew is over. And everywhere she looks, she sees the walls of the spaceship Godspeed. But there may just be hope: Elder has assumed leadership of the ship. He’s finally free to enact his vision – no more Phydus, no more lies.

But when Elder discovers shocking news about the ship, he and Amy race to discover the truth behind life on Godspeed. They must work together to unlock a puzzle that was set in motion hundreds of years earlier, unable to fight the romance that’s growing between them and the chaos that threatens to tear them apart.

I really cannot recommend this book enough.  The tone of claustrophobia and the rebellious undercurrent don’t just move the plot along.  It feels more like water cascading over a waterfall.  It’s unstoppable.  It forges ahead with bombastic abandon and I loved every minute of it.  There’s never a moment of peace for Amy and Elder and that does so much to make the pages fly by.

I think I can say this without giving too much away.  Revis is a master of painting the story as if it’s on a canvas.  You can see the aged books in the Recorder Hall, the hull painted to resemble a blue sky, the solar lamp, and the cryo deck as if Revis painted them in oils.  Only, the claustrophobia of the ship and the fear and anger the Feeders feel Revis uses to paint with made me think of Goya’s Saturn Devouring His Son.  There’s such a dark element to the story that the cheerfully bright light of the solar lamp and the happy bunnies in the fields seem fake somehow, tinged with corruption.  It ratchets up the tension of the story to a point where you will be sitting on the edge of your seat while you read it.

I keep on thinking of things I want to talk about, but then I get stuck on the fact that I enjoyed that thing so much because I totally didn’t see it coming… at all.  Due to this, I’m actually going to make this a short review.  Not because I have nothing to say about Revis’ genius, but because I don’t want to decrease your enjoyment of it.  I will say this, if you’re going to read this book, go back and start with Across the Universe.  You could probably read A Million Suns as a standalone, but the context that ATU would provide adds even more vibrancy to a story that’s already presented in riveting detail.

4 ink bottles.

Book Links:  GoodreadsPublisher


Leave a Reply

